Skip to content

Eau Claire City Council contested
The Eau Claire City Council has 5 at large seats up for election this spring with 8 candidates vying for them. 

The Eau Claire City Council includes 11 members who each serve a three-year term, including 5 elected by district, 5 elected at large, and 1 elected City Council President. Each official elected by district represents about 13,509 people, and the City Council President represents about 67,545 people (or the whole City of Eau Claire). The City Council makes legislative decisions, determines community needs, and makes decisions about budgeting. 

 Three out of the five incumbents, Catherine Emmanuelle, David Klinkhammer, and John Lor have announced that they will not run for reelection. The candidates for the Eau Claire City Council spring election are as follows. 

  • Kate Beaton (incumbent)
  • Roderick Jones (incumbent)
  • Joshua Miller
  • Larry Mboga
  • Charlie Johnson
  • Bob Carr
  • Mark Richter
  • Brian Trowbridge 
  • Mary Partlow

Altoona Mayor and council seats unopposed 
The City of Altoona is governed by a mayor and a 6 member city council, who all serve a 3 year term as of 2022 (the mayor will serve a 2 year term from 2022-2024 and then start serving 3 year terms starting in April 2024). Each City Council member is elected by districts, and each member represents about 1,270 people. 

Jon Olson filed for candidacy for Altoona’s District 3 seat after Altoona extended the deadline to file nomination papers for said seat until Friday, Jan. 7th. City Council member Maria Guzman’s (District 3) decided not to seek reelection, leaving her district without a candidate this Spring. Olson will run unopposed. For the remainder of the Altoona city elections, Mayor Brendan Pratt, Dale Stuber (District 1), and Timothy Lima (District 2) are also running unopposed. 

The spring election will be on April 5th. Go to myvote.wi for more information on how to register and where to vote. 

Watch for more candidate information from the Eau Claire Chamber as the election progresses. 

More Information:
City, county races set(Leader-Telegram $)
Eau Claire City Council Candidate Information (City of Eau Claire)

$ – denotes subscription required
£ – article limits for non-subscribers

Posted by Brianna Franke, Governmental Affairs Intern

Scroll To Top