Skip to content

November 16, 2022

Wisconsin had many close races in the 2022 midterm elections. Many races were decided by margins of less than 2%. The Secretary of State race in particular has yet to be called with Democrat incumbent Doug la Follette currently ahead of Republican Amy Loudenbeck by less than 8,000 votes.

Neither the Republican Party nor the Democratic Party swept the election with members of both parties being elected statewide. Two of the most watched races had incumbent Republican Senator Ron Johnson and incumbent Democratic Governor Tony Evers both winning their reelection campaigns. State legislative and executive branches will also again be split, with the executive branch under Democrat control and the state legislature under Republican control.

Statewide, Wisconsin voters elected six Republicans and two Democrats to the US House of Representatives. Republicans were able to pick up one seat with Derrick Van Orden defeating his challenger Brad Pfaff.

WI US Senate – Ron Johnson (R – Incumbent)

Ron Johnson (R- Incumbent) -1,336,878 (50.5%)
Mandela Barnes (D) – 1,310,429 (49.5%)

WI 3rd Congressional District – Derrick Van Orden (R)

Derrick Van Orden – 164,661 (51.8%)
Brad Pfaff – 152,940 (48.2%)

WI Governor – Tony Evers (D – Incumbent)

Tony Evers (D – Incumbent) – 1,358,664 (51.2 %)
Tim Michels (R) – 1,268,204 (47.8%)

WI Attorney General – Josh Kaul (D – Incumbent)

Josh Kaul (D – Incumbent) – 1,329,852 (50.7%)
Eric Toney (R) – 1,295,707 (49.3%)

WI Secretary of State – Not Called
Doug La Follette (D – Incumbent) – 1,268,527 (48.3%)
Amy Loudenbeck (R) – 1,260,867 (48.0%)

WI State Treasurer – John Leiber (R)

John Leiber (R) – 1,291,055 (49.7%)
Aaron Richardson (D) – 1,251,830 (48.1%)

More information:

Recapping Wisconsin’s 2022 midterm election results (PBS)
Wisconsin’s Johnson beats Barnes; key Senate seat stays GOP (News 13 WEAU)
Local political science professor shares election analysis (News 18 WQOW)
WEC: Midterm voter turnout was high but didn’t exceed 2018 record (News 18 WQOW)
Derrick Van Orden defeats Brad Pfaff in nationally watched congressional swing district (WPR)
Wisconsin Gov. Tony Evers defeats Tim Michels to win second term in 2022 midterm election (Journal-Sentinel +)

Posted by Emily Johnston Governmental Affairs Intern

Scroll To Top