Skip to content

The Wisconsin Supreme Court is made up of seven justices that are elected to non-partisan positions. Each term on the court last 10 years, and under state law there can be only one Supreme Court election each year. Current Justice Patience Roggensack's term expires in July 2023, and she is not seeking reelection.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court is the highest court in Wisconsin and has administrative authority over all Wisconsin Courts, as well as the ability to review cases. In its administrative duties, the Supreme Court established procedural rules in courts, as well as disciplines attorneys and judges. The most common way for a case to be reviewed by the Supreme Court is for a petition to be filed, and at least three of the justices to approve the petition. The Supreme Court also elections a justice to serve as the chief justice for a two-year term. The current Chief Justice is Annette Kingsland Ziegler.

There are four candidates that have announced they are running: former state Supreme Court Justice Daniel Kelly, Waukesha County Circuit Court Judge Jennifer Dorow, Dane County Circuit Judge Everett Mitchell, and Milwaukee County Circuit Judge Janet Protasiewicz.

Although this is a non-partisan election, candiates are normally backed by Democrats or Republicans. Currently the court has a 4-3 conservative advantage, although the open seat belonged to one of the conservative judges. Kelly and Dorow are conservatives while Mitchell and Protasiewicz are liberals.

A primary election will be held for this race.

Janet C. Protasiewicz and Daniel Kelly will be on the ballot after receiving 46% and 24% of primary votes, respectively. Jennifer Dorow received 22% of the votes and Everet Mitchell received 7%.


Election Timeline:

December 1, 2022: First day to circulate nomination papers (Nomination papers must have between 2,000 and 4,000 signatures)

January 3, 2023: Deadline to file for candidacy, including “Campaign Registration Statement,” “Declaration of Candidacy,” and “Nomination Paper for Nonpartisan Office” by 4 p.m.

January 6, 2023: deadline to complete and Submit a Statement of Economic Interests to Wisconsin Ethics Commission by 4:30 p.m.

February 21, 2023: Primary Election if there are more than 2 candidates running

April 4, 2023: Spring Election

More information:

Election 2023: Guide to the Local Spring Election (Eau Claire Chamber of Commerce)

Wisconsin's next partisan battle will be over the balance of power on its Supreme Court (WPR)

Ideological differences on display at Wisconsin Supreme Court candidate forum (The Cap)

Former Justice Daniel Kelly's Campaign Website

Judge Jennifer Dorow's Campaign Website

Judge Everett Mitchell's Campaign Website

Judge Janet Protasiewicz's Campaign Website

Posted by Emily Johnston Governmental Affairs Intern

Scroll To Top